Jeff Longland

Relax, don't worry – have a home brew!

[WebCT Impact 2006] MERLOT & WebCT – The Next Generation

I was lucky enough to have a sneak peek of the new MERLOT PowerLink a few weeks ago while it was in-development. Since then I’ve been telling anyone who would listen about the upcoming release.  That said, I wasn’t aware that MERLOT was also on the cusp of releasing a new version of their “referratory”.  I wish I had a smartphone/PDA so I could take a picture of the new MERLOT – looks good.  Back to the PowerLink, it allows any instructor to easily search and link to MERLOT objects like they would any other tool inside the WebCT environment. There were many in the audience who were critical that these are only links and not local copies of the objects – I’m not sure why this is terribly important, is that not the nature of the web?  Kudos to the folks who’ve brought this to fruition – it will be released at the MERLOT conference in Ottawa in a few weeks.

Written by jlongland

July 16, 2006 at 10:08 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

