Jeff Longland

Relax, don't worry – have a home brew!

Wireless Access at Conferences

I’ve been to a handful of events in the past year where I’ve had difficulty getting Internet access and I’m getting a little loopy about it. At the podcasting conference yesterday, the speaker was talking about the transformation of education via technology. Yes. Agreed. But where’s my wireless access? We’re talking about access to content anywhere, anytime.. but I can’t! I’d like access now. I can see one laptop down front, flipping through what appears to be a stream of blogs… ahhh, presenter access. Similar to my experiences at Educating the Net Generation in the fall. Cyprien was kind enough to share his access with the audience in the morning. I know there are many reasons why one wouldn’t want participants to have access, but if we’re talking about emerging technologies I want to have a personal, interactive exploration of the topics while I’m taking in the conference. These events are about professional development and when I have a full day for reflection, I want to make the most of it. The bigger events that provide conference wide access are great, but typically lacking security. Maybe I’m just picky, but a walk around the neighbourhood reveals one wireless network after another!

Written by jlongland

March 3, 2006 at 11:36 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

